Registering for a Oregon IFTA license
Everything you need to know to get your Oregon IFTA license.
Even if your operations span across multiple other provinces or even down to the United States, as long as your carrier/business is based in Oregon, you must register under the procedures for Oregon.
Not based in Oregon? Click here and find your province/state to get the relevant IFTA registration guide.
Do you have to register for IFTA in Oregon?
If you were wondering whether or not you’re exempt, know that you must register and file for IFTA if you have:
- Any vehicle with two axles and a gross vehicle weight of over 11,797 kilograms or 26,000 pounds
- A vehicle of any weight but with three or more axles
- A vehicle that exceeds 11,797 kilograms or 26,000 pounds
Now, let’s get into the steps you need to take in order to register for an Oregon IFTA license.
How to register
To obtain an IFTA license, an applicant must fully complete the Oregon Application for IRP and/or IFTA – Schedule A (Form 735-9908).
And pay fees by mail to:
PO Box 5330.
Or in person at:
Salem Registration Office
ODOT/MCTD – IFTA
550 Capitol St NE,
Salem, OR, 97301-2530.
Portland Registration Office
I-5 South, MP 308,
12348 N Center Ave
Portland, OR 97217.
The state of Oregon still requires you to submit a “zero” report even if no fuel or IFTA mileage was traveled in that quarter.
Cost of the Oregon IFTA license
Oregon’s fees depends on the number of vehicles and starts at $280 for 1 vehicle. This is an annual fee.
NUMBER OF VEHICLES REGULAR LICENSE FEE
1 – $280
3 – $310
4 – $325
5 – $340
6 – $355
7 – $370
21 AND OVER $575
*Exception for Farm Rate: Oregon IFTA offers a farm rate for those who qualify—a fixed amount of $50, regardless of the number of vehicles. To be eligible for this rate, at least half of your IFTA-qualified vehicles must carry Oregon farm plates.
Filing your quarterly IFTA return
You can easily generate and print your IFTA return online at ExpressIFTA, or file online at the official Motor Carrier Transportation Division website of the State of Oregon.
Renewing your IFTA license in Oregon
On December 31st, your IFTA license and decals will expire. If you have not received your IFTA sticker replacement before this date, there is a grace period. However, your current license and decals may remain displayed during the grace period that extends through February of the following year. You should submit your IFTA license application before November 30th in order to avoid any delays or penalties.
Watch out for these penalties
Oregon charges a late penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax due, whichever is greater. Interest is computed on overdue taxes in each jurisdiction at a rate of .4167% per month. Even if you are due a net refund, interest still applies to each jurisdiction for any underpayment of fuels use tax to that jurisdiction. This interest is calculated from the day after the IFTA quarterly due date for each month, or fraction of a month, until paid.
Oregon IFTA Exemptions
The state of Oregon does not include recreational vehicles in the IFTA tax unless they are used in conjunction with any business endeavor. Recreational vehicles include motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual.
Need to calculate your IFTA fuel tax and mileage?
Read our in depth guide below.